top of page

Who Should Stand Beside You When You Say "I Do"?


You found your man but you still need your girls? Yeah, finding the right way to propose to your bridesmaids is exciting but can be hard, but who to choose can be even harder. I am sure you have tons of friends that are deserving and up to the challenge (not that you are a challenge, but let's be real, there are some bridezillas out there). So who do you choose? How many do you choose? Let's narrow it down.

First things first. Talk with your fiance and come up with how many each of you would like so you can plan on having the same number on each side (I give you this advice when my husband had four on his side and I had five on mine haha. I had a junior bridesmaid though!)

Now is when it gets tricky? Start with family. Do you have anyone you are very close with in your family (sisters, cousins, etc.) that you could not imagine saying "I Do" without them next to you?

My Maid of Honor was my cousin. She is the sister I never had and we have basically been attached at the hip since she was born. Of course she was going to be up there with me.

Think about who really knows you and your spouse? Who has had an impact on your relationship together? Who truly supports, respects, and uplifts your relationship with your spouse? You only want people up there who are genuinely happy and supportive of you. Choose people who you know are going to help make not just the day easier, but the whole process easier for you. If you have a close friend, but you think she will complain or try to take over decisions that are YOURS, leave her out. This is your time to be selfish and not care what anyone thinks about it. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF IT! The golden rule of weddings is that no one can get upset with the bride amiright?! At least that should be your mindset.

The other girls I had with me at the alter were my high school and current BFF, my childhood BFF and person with me the night I met my now husband, college friend, and my junior bridesmaid who is also my cousin.

I had so many other friends that deserved to be up there with me that I wish were, but I got to include them in the bachelorette festivities, and other wedding things as well.

This part of the process can be one of the hardest parts on you and all of your friends. Just know, your true friends will stand beside you and your choices and you will remain good friends after this.

Any other wedding questions? Ask away!

Happy choosing!

bottom of page