top of page

4 Tips When Shopping For Your Wedding Dress


Wedding dress shopping is one of the most memorable, and exciting moments for brides. However, sometimes the experience might not be so great. I am going to give you three tips to follow when shopping for your wedding dress that can help you have the most wonderful time shopping for THE dress.

Try on dresses that you do not necessarily think is your style

Ask most brides and they might tell you that the dress they walked down the isle in, was not something they thought they would like but when they put the dress on, they fell in love. That was me. I knew I wanted strapless, which I got. But I thought I would wear a satin dress with a lot of bling, or even a ballgown that is super fit and flare. I even told people that I would never wear a wedding gown that had lace on it and what do you know, my entire wedding dress was lace! Of course, try on the styles you feel like you love, but don't knock some styles until you see them on your body.

Get opinions from the people you brought with you, but DON'T let them make your decision

This is huge! Of course take your friends and family with you, it is such a special moment for you to share with special people, but don't let them make your decision. If you find a dress that you love and some of the people you brought with you don't, that is okay!! You will know what dress is yours when you put it on, and don't even think about letting someone change your mind. It is your day and how you feel is all that matters! No joke, I was actually alone when I found my wedding dress. I felt it was important to go look at some dresses and see what I like, I was not trying to buy a dress that day. However, my dress was the second one I tried on, and I loved it instantly! I knew it was the one, and even better, it was on sale!

Don't try on dresses that are out of your budget

The reason this is so important is because if you try on a dress that is outside of your budget and you fall in love with it but you know you can't afford it, you will always compare your dress to that one. You want to try dresses on that you know you can afford and could walk out of the store purchasing the dress you are crazy about.

Don't look at anymore dresses once you have bought yours

This is actually kind of hard. I loved my dress and I knew it was the one, but dresses would pop up on my pinterest and I would second guess my dress. There is no need to second guess your dress, remember the way you felt in it and why it is the dress for you! Don't keep looking or even try to look, you don't need the stress of second guessing your decision on the dress.

I hope you find the most spectacular dress that takes your breath away. Don't rush it, and don't settle. You will know the dress is yours when you get it on and see yourself in it. It really is that simple!

xo, Taylor


bottom of page